Site icon AVO Magazine – One click closer to Japan

Yamato back to The Netherlands with JHONETSU

YAMATO © Masa Ogawa

YAMATO © Masa Ogawa

In the months of April and May 2019, the Yamato Drummers will give no fewer than 32 (!) Shows in The Netherlands. The tour bears the title JHONETSU (情熱), which stands for passion, and is an athletic and musical spectacle with a lot of attention for costumes, design and lighting in addition to the drums. The motivation for this latest venture is exactly Yamato’s infinite passion. The drummers have always used their passion to confront tradition. Yamato travels around the world with this passion. Passion mobilises people and Yamato wants to show their passion on the podium.

Last year Yamato had their 25th anniversary and they have already given over 3500 concerts in more than 54 countries with almost 8 million visitors worldwide. At the moment the group is in the middle of a tour through the United Kingdom.

Friday 5 April: Theater Amsterdam – Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Saturday 6 April: Theater Amsterdam – Amsterdam, The Netherlands (afternoon show)
Saturday 6 April: Theater Amsterdam – Amsterdam, The Netherlands (evening show)
Thursday 11 April: Deventer Schouwburg – Deventer, The Netherlands
Friday 13 April: De Lawei – Drachten, The Netherlands
Tuesday 16 April: Parktheater – Deventer, The Netherlands
Thursday 18 April: Zwolsetheaters – Zwolle, The Netherlands
Friday 19 April: De Tamboer – Hoogeveen, The Netherlands
Saturday 20 April: Zaantheater – Zaandam, The Netherlands
Tuesday 23 April: Agnietenhof – Tiel, The Netherlands
Wednesday 24 April: Scheldetheater – Terneuzen, The Netherlands
Thursday 25 April: Taqa Theater de Vest – Alkmaar, The Netherlands
Friday 26 April: Posthuis Theater – Heerenveen, The Netherlands
Monday 29 April: Stadsschouwburg – Utrecht, The Netherlands
Wednesday 1 May: De Meenthe – Steenwijk, The Netherlands
Thursday 2 May: Orpheus – Apeldoorn, The Netherlands
Friday 3 May: Parkstad Limburg – Heerlen, The Netherlands
Wednesday 8 May: Schouwburg De Meerse – Hoofddorp, The Netherlands
Thursday 9 May: Het Park – Hoorn, The Netherlands
Friday 10 May: Schouwburg Hengelo – Hengelo, The Netherlands
Saturday 11 May: De Lievekamp – Oss, The Netherlands
Sunday 12 May: Nieuwe Luxor – Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Tuesday 14 May: Stadstheater – Zoetermeer, The Netherlands
Wednesday 15 May: De Maagd – Bergen op Zoom, The Netherlands
Thursday 16 May: Schouwburg – Venray, The Netherlands
Friday 17 May: Chasse Theater – Breda, The Netherlands
Saturday 18 May: Stadsschouwburg – Sittard, The Netherlands
Sunday 19 May: Stadsschouwburg Haarlem – Haarlem, The Netherlands
Wednesday 22 May: Castellum – Alphen aan den Rijn, The Netherlands
Thursday 23 May: Zuiderstrandtheater – Den Haag, The Netherlands
Friday 24 May: Stadsgehoorzaal – Leiden, The Netherlands
Saturday 25 May: Stadstheater Arnhem – Arnhem, The Netherlands
Tuesday 28 May: De Goudse Schouwburg – Gouda, The Netherlands

Intense physical power meets refined subtlety. The drummers effortlessly take you into their rhythmic world, thanks to their grand and compelling game where the exuberant energy and power
literally and figuratively. Unrestrained dynamics, endearing humor, delicate stillness and disciplined perfection are the ingredients that have brought Yamato, the Drummers of Japan to the top. Wherever in the world, the audience shoots out of the chair to thank the drummers with an overwhelming applause for the unforgettable concert.

Yamato was founded in 1993 in Asuka and they combine the age-old tradition of Taiko drumming with the exploration of new possibilities to play this majestic wadaiko. Yamato is a recognised pioneer in the world of the Taiko because they have broken away from the traditional boundaries of style since their foundation by also having female drummers in the company. Yamato consists of 6 young women and 6 young men during this tour.

Source: Yamato

Exit mobile version